Travel to the European Union

Schengen countries

On 26 May 2015 the EU and Timor-Leste signed a short-stay visa waiver.

The new visa regime provides for visa-free travel for citizens of Timor-Leste when travelling to the Schengen Area, for a period of stay of 90 days within a 180-day period.

In order to benefit from visa-free travel, citizens from the EU and Timor-Leste must be in possession of a valid ordinary, diplomatic, service/official or special passport. Visa-free travel applies to all categories of persons and for any kind of purposes of travel (for instance tourism, cultural visits, scientific activities, family visits, business etc.), except to persons travelling for the purpose of carrying out a paid activity.

Ireland and the United Kingdom are not subject to the application of the agreement, in accordance with the protocols annexed to the EU treaties. Nevertheless, Timor-Leste signed with the United Kingdom a bilateral agreement which provides visa-free travel.

However, the below conditions must be applied in order to enter the territory of the Schengen States:

  1. Possession of  a  valid  travel  document  – passport issued within the previous 10 years and valid for at least three months after the intended date of departure from the Schengen area – or  documents  authorizing  them  to  cross the border;
  2. Return ticket for a maximum of 90 days after arrival;
  3. Not to  be  considered  to  be  a  threat  to  public  policy,  internal  security,  public  health  or  the  international  relations  of  any  of  the  Member  States,  in  particular  where  no  alert  has  been issued in Member States’ national data bases for the purposes of refusing entry on the same grounds.
  4. Documents proving the purpose  and  conditions  of the  stay  (for  example  tickets  for  further  journeys  and  return  tickets;  reservation  of  accommodation;  invitation  letter  in  case  of  visits,  conferences  or  events;  school  enrollment  certificate  in  case  of  study, etc., otherwise an invitation by a family member with the signature recognized by local authorities.
  5. Having  sufficient  means  of  subsistence, both for the duration of the intended stay and for the return. In order  to  assess  the  means  of  subsistence, the reference amounts set by each Schengen State are different. Please visit the following link (Download)

The Member States have the right to refuse entry and stay in their territories if one or more of the entry conditions are not met.

If you satisfy all these conditions, you can enter and stay in the territory of the Schengen States for 90 days. However, you are not allowed to work.

It is also recommended a medical insurance policy or a travel insurance. We recommend the following company:

For more information please contact the Embassy or visit the following links:

Scroll to Top