About the Embassy

NameplateThe Government of Timor-Leste opened its representation in Brussels just after the Proclamation of the Restauration of the Independence celebrated on the 20th of March 2002. At that time, the Representation was located in an office granted by the Portuguese Representation. It was the seat up to 2008.

Chronology of the Heads of Mission:


  • Since 2016, H.E. Ambassador Francisco T. Cepeda  assumes the position as Head of Mission.
  • From 2011 to December 2015, H.E. Ambassador Nelson Santos was nominated to the post
  • From 2008 to 2011, H.E. Marciano da Silva was in charge of the Embassy as Chargé d’Affaires a.i.
  • H.E.  José António Amorim Dias was nominated as the first Ambassador of Timor-Leste to the Kingdom of Belgium and the European Union and occupied the post until 2008.

At this time, the office is located at Avenue de Tervuren, 102 1040 Brussels.

The main objective of the Embassy is to ensure the interests of Timor-Leste and its citizens towards the Kingdom of Belgium and the European Institutions. The Timorese population resident in Belgium is currently quite low (about 18 citizens) therefore the Embassy only provides consular services occasionally, focusing its works on the cooperation with the European Union.

The Embassy is open every working day from 9h000 to 17h30 except official holidays. Please do not hesitate to contact us for further information.